The Russian Mining Excellence Awards ceremony, honouring the best social achievements and technologies in mining and exploration, was held on 4 October 2018 at the finale of the 14th MINEX Russia Forum at the gala-party in Moscow.

The GEOLOGICAL EXPLORATION PROJECT OF THE YEAR award was presented to GDK Baimskaya for over 100k lm exploration drilling at the Peschanka copper-porphyry deposit in 2015-2018, securing the double increase in proven deposits of sulphide ore from 3.4 million tons to 6.4 million tons, with 70% classified in categories В + С1.

The MINING PROJECT OF THE YEAR Award went to Nordgold on recognition of the field Gross launch in the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia) to produce 12 mln tons of ore and approximately 230,000 ounces of gold annually for the next 17 years.

The INVESTMENT PROJECT OF THE YEAR Award was given to Kolmar for the most extensive investments in the total of 150 bn rubles at MPC Denisovsky, MPC Inaglinsky and the seaport, with 35 bn rubles spent on the realization of the plans since the beginning 2017.

The HR PROJECT OF THE YEAR Award was granted to Polymetal International Plc for the publication of the world’s best-sellers on mining in Russian translation to upgrade professional level in the mining industry.

The SCR PROJECT OF THE YEAR Award went to AGD DIAMONDS for the implementation of modern environmentally friendly technologies and equipment, social support and charity in Arkhangelsk region.

The BREAKTHROUGH DECISION OF THE YEAR Award went also to AGD DIAMONDS for introducing new machinery in bulldozer ripping and excavation and broadening the existing technology by a set of tools alternative to blasting related to the surface kimberlite and tuffite mining at the Grib Mine in Arkhangelsk region.

The MINING LEGEND Award was presented to V. I. Tarakanovskiy, Russian Gold Prospectors’ Union Board Chairman.

The Mining Excellence Award was established in 2007 by MINEX Russia Forum and become “the Russian Mining Oscar”. The board of the experts selecting nominees and winners consisted of leading mining professionals.


There are 0 comments